2014 Recap and 2015 Vision

2014 was a big year for me on the editing/revisions front. After a slow start—Apple ate my computer for six weeks—I completely revised my book, The Gantean, and the next book in my Lethemia Fantasy series, The Cedna. I finished and revised the third book in that series as well! All of these drafts are currently in the beta reading phase of their existence, like little chrysalises waiting to become butterflies. Or so I hope.

This year I created a new, special edition of The Velocipede Racesanother revision! The new version is planned for a December 2015 release by a medium-sized press. More info about that will come down the road.

I wrote a lot of short stories in 2014. Most were for flash fiction contests; some were for submissions or just for fun. Partnering with other flash aficionados, I helped produce the flash fiction anthology, Flashdogs. Two of my stories, “The Painted Dog” and “Accidental Bodies,” were featured there. Some of you may recognize yet another revision—I took my short story, “The Painted Dog,” down from 10,000 words to under 4000. Whew! I also wrote some bike-themed short fiction for another volume of EBP’s Bikes in Space coming next year.

LCP created our own anthology, Five Hundred Words of Magic, from the stories submitted for our Winter of Whimsy and Wyrdness contest. I produced that anthology along with Beth D, and it will available in a mere week on most ebook platforms. Look for it January 3rd.

My biggest accomplishment this year was publishing my second novel, Secret Room, a dark book that wasn’t the easiest story to channel or put out there for the world to see. Thank you to the readers and commenters who offered support for a book with an uncomfortable theme.

As for 2015, I have big goals. I hope to publish The Gantean and The Cedna, and possibly Lethemia Book Three. I want to write flash fiction regularly, and I’ve committed to formatting and copy-editing the second volume of Flashdogs.

I’ve still got plenty of my own editing and revising to do, what with Lethemia books four through seven in the queue. I also have two big, very important goals: to finish drafting at least one of the many half-written novels littering my desktop, and to write a Pilates book for LCP’s first foray into nonfiction.

Seems like 2015 will be an even busier year than 2014! Wish me luck.

One thought on “2014 Recap and 2015 Vision

  1. WOW!!!! Very impressive……   Cheers,

    Margo E. Schein Decker Bullock Sotheby’s International Realty (Office Lic: 01112888) 100 Smith Ranch Road, Suite 110 San Rafael CA 94903 Primary: 415.528.5144 CABRE# 01203978

    We’ve gone green! Please don’t print this e-mail unless you really need to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

