Liebster Award Post

liebster-award-logo-593x300

Tam Rogers tagged me to participate in something called the Liebster Award. I have no idea who Liebster is or what the award is, though I wish it involved money, food, or at least a ball gown. Apparently it only involves questions.

The premise:

Share 11 random facts about yourself

Answer 11 questions provided by the person who nominated you (in my case, the lovely and multi-talented Tam Rogers!)

Concoct 11 new questions for 3 new bloggers

Here are my 11 random facts:

1) I have a navel piercing.

2) Maple syrup>honey>sugar. This is the true hierarchy of sweeteners according to Emily.

3) I own a 1966 Mini Cooper.

4) I nearly got married hanging upside down but the officiator balked at the last minute and asked my husband and me sit and receive an Indian blessing called deeksha instead. The blessing seems to have been successful. We are on our ninth year.

5) I spend the vast majority of my time barefoot.

6) I found my dogs on the streets of Costa Rica. One had been shot with a pellet gun, the other was a tiny puppy abandoned in a shoebox in the gutter. They are now 12 and 11 years old, and my best friends.

7) I enjoy editing.

8) Cold is defined as any temperature under 50 degrees Fahrenheit. I hate the cold.

9) I need art more than I need furniture.

10) My first published work was a poem I wrote when I was eleven about surviving the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake in Northern California.

11) Eleven facts is a lot for me to self-disclose. I’m an introvert.

And now, for Tam’s questions:

  1. If you had to live in a fiction book, what book would it be and why?

Honestly, I think I’d like to live in a fantasy romance of some kind: magic, love, and happily ever after. Most books have more conflict, strife, and suffering than I’d ever want to endure. What I like to read isn’t what I like to live. Or maybe I could just be a hobbit who isn’t called into any higher service.

  1. Cat or dog?

DOG. DOG. DOGS. Because:

IMG_0121

  1. When your muse is on holiday, what do you do to bring it back?

Like me, my muse is a workaholic. We don’t do vacations. We are on a schedule. If one story doesn’t work, we make a new one. If fiction doesn’t work, we do non-fiction. If non-fiction doesn’t work, we take a nap or a bike ride and try again.

  1. The Dinner Party question: you get to invite three people, dead or alive, from the entirety of human history, to your dinner party. Who would it be, and why?

Can they all magically speak the same language? Just for today, I’ll go with Joseph Pilates, BKS Iyengar, and Martha Graham. They could talk about movement and the body and I’d listen like a fly on the wall.

  1. What is your favourite short story or piece of flash fiction, and why?

I’m horrible with favorites. One that is memorable to me is: “An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge,” by Ambrose Bierce. It has a great twist.

  1. What is your favourite film that’s been adapted from a book you’ve read?

Oh, no, another favorite. How about Blade Runner, from Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Usually I like the book better than the movie, but in this case I’m not sure.

  1. If you were a superhero, what would your name and special power be (bonus points for including a costume)?

I’d be Flying Spider Monkey, who shape shifts into a spider monkey body, complete with prehensile tail, but also able to deploy amazing skin flaps like a flying squirrel so I could hang-glide through the air following my daring leaps.

  1. Who is your favourite unsung author?

Me?

  1. What book or film has had you scared to the bones?

Virunga. It’s a documentary about the fate of a national park in Congo. Greed and enduring colonialist thinking are going to kill the last mountain gorillas and upset a very delicate balance in a country long devastated by genocide, war, and colonialism. What I found terrifying about the movie was that it made clear how complex the problems facing the human species in the next few centuries will be—the situation in Virunga being only one of many—and how poorly equipped we are to fix global-scale problems. Human greed might be the scariest thing on earth.

  1. What is the best piece of writing/creative advice you’ve ever had?

Do you love it? Do you hate it? There it is, the way you made it. This is a workshop saying I picked up from my sculptor husband. It reminds me that my work is always mine to make as I will; I have the power to fix it, change it, or leave it as is.

  1. You’re travelling. Where are you going to, and is it about the journey or about the destination?

It’s about both, and I can’t decide. I may be biking up the Pacific Coast (in this case, it’s the journey.) Or I may be flying to Budapest (in this case, it’s the destination).

And here are my questions, for my victims: @Beth_Deitchman, writing partner and editatrix, @TamaraShoemaker whose new website would be a perfect place for this activity, and @oxyborb, Harrison Aye, my latest critique buddy and a real smarty-pants.

1) What was your dream career when you were a kid?

2) What is one physical activity you want to do before you die?

3) What is your favorite trip or vacation you’ve ever done, and why?

4) Do you dance?

5) Editing or drafting?

6) Your favorite myth or fairy-tale and why?

7) Where (and when) did you grow up and how do you think it shaped you?

8) You have $100 that you must spend on yourself by the end of the day. What do you buy?

9) Pick any three objects or people to be stranded with you in a lost space ship.

10) What’s your favorite piece of music and why?

11) Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Leave a Reply

