Seven Questions: KT Hanna

Me-Squared

Today I welcome author KT Hanna to answer my seven questions. I met KT on Twitter. Her book, CHAMELEON, the first in a science fiction series, comes out in a few short days on August 4th.

CHAMELEON-Domino-Project-Front-with-Text-2

Here’s a bit about KT in her own words:

KT Hanna has a love for words so extreme, a single word can spark entire worlds.

Born in Australia, she met her husband in a computer game, moved to the U.S.A. and went into culture shock. Bonus? Not as many creatures specifically out to kill you.

When she’s not writing, she freelance edits for Chimera Editing, interns for a NYC Agency, and chases her daughter, husband, corgi, and cat. No, she doesn’t sleep. She is entirely powered by the number 2, caffeine, and beef jerky.

KT answers:

1) Can you pitch your book in three sentences?

When Sai’s newly awoken psionic powers accidentally destroy her apartment complex, she’s thrown into an intensive training program. Her only options are pass or die.

Surviving means proving her continued existence isn’t a mistake–a task her new mentor, Bastian, takes personally. Her abilities place her in the GNW Enforcer division, and partners her with Domino 12, who is eerily human for an alien-parasite psionic hybrid.

After eliminating an Exiled scientist, she discovers someone is manipulating everything. With each mission more perilous, Sai must figure out who to trust before her next assignment becomes her last.

2) Is your book indie-published or traditionally published? Tell us a little about that journey.

After two agents, and more than one book (including this one) that missed the market, I sat down and sort of thought – hey, why do I write? I write because I love my worlds, and, if possible, would like to share them with others.

And since you never know when what will become the next big thing, I don’t know if that means these books would languish for 5 or 20 years. And I love these books, and they were already in great form, and frankly for where I am in my career right now, putting them out there is the best next step.

I needed to do this for me, for my writing. I’m not sure what my next step will be but indie-publishing this series seemed the logical thing for me to do.

I will caution people though – going this route, if you want to put as professional book out there as possible? It’s time consuming, but so worth it!

3) Why sci-fi?

One of the earliest things I loved to watch was Astroboy, way back in the early 80s. I remember getting up to watch it, and being obsessed with this robot/android who had to have his skin replaced in order to seem like he was growing. From there it went to Star Trek and Star Wars, and the original Dr Who… I loved everything science fiction – especially anything alien. One book that will always stick with me is a very old one: Come, hunt an earthman by Philip E. High. I read it when I was about 8, and I’ve never been able to get it out of my head.

I love the possibilities, the futures, the worlds, and the alien possibilities. Pretty much everything about it.

4) What’s a favorite sci-fi book and why?

Come, hunt an earthman by Philip E. High

It’s old, a 1973 book about Aliens who hunt humans on earth, sort of like a vacation for that purpose. I’m not sure why it always stayed with me, but there was just something about it that stayed with my young mind and never let me go

5) What makes a great sentence?

Words

Seriously? I have no idea – I just go with it and something think, hey, this does everything I need it to. It evokes emotion, gives a sense of character or world, furthers plot and sounds damn good.

It’s rare, but I think sometimes sentences that embody all those things really stand out.

6) What are your top five overused words?

Really. Look. That (although I’ve been working at correcting this). Occasionally sometimes and something. I get in a bad groove and will use them in close proximity, And not overused, but because they’re a more rare word and so more noticeable when used, I have to watch things like pang and myriad.

7) How and when did you first know you were a writer?

I always loved reading, and loved the little “stories” they got us to write in school. But when I was 8 I think? I got this idea for a story – a ghost story. It was 12 A4 pages long, handwritten of course. I loved it, was so proud of it. My teacher seemed a little concerned because well… I killed one of the twins in the story – but hey! It was history repeating itself and she shouldn’t have been in the attic 😀

Ever since then I worked at it on and off. There was no internet then it wasn’t until I was about 22 that I researched more and realized how much dedication it takes. And well… I’m a lot older than 22 now!

Many thanks to K.T. for joining me for Seven Questions!

Here’s a bit more about CHAMELEON, available August 4th on Amazon:

When Sai’s newly awoken psionic powers accidentally destroy her apartment complex, she’s thrown into an intensive training program. Her only options are pass or die.

Surviving means proving her continued existence isn’t a mistake–a task her new mentor, Bastian, takes personally. Her abilities place her in the GNW Enforcer division, and partners her with Domino 12, who is eerily human for an alien-parasite psionic hybrid.

After eliminating an Exiled scientist, she discovers someone is manipulating both sides of the conflict. With each mission more perilous, Sai must figure out who to trust before her next assignment becomes her last.

Leave a Reply

