Fan Art Friday: Week 3

This week on Fan Art Friday, in celebration of the release of Mage and Source, I’m offering up two new covers for my own books, The Gantean and The Cedna.

My real book covers feature portraits of my narrators, but for a different concept, I decided to show the magical aspect of the books and the ongoing saga of the Ophirae stones, the connecting plot arc of the entire series of Tales of Blood & Light.

On the cover of The Gantean, you see the mysterious red Ophira stone that Leila brought with her from Gante in her “barbarian” necklace:

gantorb

On the cover for The Cedna, you see the Opal Ophira, which the Cedna awakens during her tragic love affair with Onatos Amar:

cedorb

These two books were originally conceived as a duet within the series, and I like to think these new covers reflect that, with aspects of the images reflecting each other, the watery center of The Cedna‘s stone matching the watery background of The Gantean.

Next week I’ll reveal the Ophirae covers for Sterling and Mage and Source.

2 thoughts on “Fan Art Friday: Week 3

  1. I’m not one for feature portraits on covers because I like to use my imagination of what people look like based on what I read. Having said that, I do like the real book covers because they are a pretty close resemblance to the characters in a way. But I do LOVE these Ophirae covers more! And the glyphs! You’ll have to tell me how you came up with those.

    I’m sure there’s a general study that’s been done on feature portrait covers vs. not. I’d be interested in that information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

